Board of Directors

Aurora Energy is managed by a Board of up to five directors and a management team led by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). 

Board Members

Caryle Demarte PSM (Chair)

Caryle was appointed Chair of Aurora Energy on 16 May 2016 and has been a Director since 1 April 2006. She is a member of Aurora Energy’s Board Appointments and Remuneration Committee and Board Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

Caryle has a strong background in the energy sector, having held roles as General Manager of Victorian Government-owned gas retailer, Kinetik Energy, and General Manager Corporate Relations, Public and Government Affairs and Retail with TXU.

Caryle is presently the Chair of the Infrastructure Assistance Fund for the Victorian Government and a director of Power Retail Corporation in the Northern Territory.

Caryle has been a director of Yarra Valley Water, Synergy, Australia Customer Services Pty Ltd, Victorian Energy and Water Industry Ombudsman and VENCorp. She was the inaugural Deputy Chair and a director of the Energy Retailers Association of Australia. She has also been a director of a number of not-for-profit financial sector boards.

Caryle has a Bachelor of Business and, in 2002, was awarded a Public Service Medal for services to the Victorian community. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Rebecca Kardos

Aurora Energy’s shareholders appointed Rebecca as a director in November 2014.

Rebecca joined Aurora Energy in February 2014 as CEO-Designate in anticipation of the commencement of the retail business on 1 July 2014. Rebecca was General Manager Retail at Synergy (Western Australia) with overall responsibility for some one million residential and non-contestable small to medium business customers. Prior to this, Rebecca held senior positions within the utilities sector in Australia and New Zealand, including General Manager Retail with the Power and Water Corporation in the Northern Territory.

Rebecca is a committee member of NILS Network Tasmania and a board member of the Australian Energy Council. She holds a Masters of Business Administration, a Bachelor of Computer Science and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Yvonne Rundle

Yvonne was appointed to the Board of Aurora Energy in January 2015. Yvonne is the Chair of Aurora Energy’s Board Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

With over 30 years of experience in public practice, Yvonne specialises in business advice and taxation services, and has provided advisory and audit services to both State and Local Government.

Yvonne has experience in a range of board roles including with the Synectic Group of companies, AGW Funds Management Ltd, Fairbrother Foundation Limited, Devonport Corporation Pty Ltd, director of TOTE Tasmania and chair of its Audit and Risk Committee. From 2005 to 2011 Yvonne served on the University of Tasmania Council, and was appointed Deputy Chancellor in 2008.

Yvonne is a Chartered Accountant, a Graduate of the AICD, a Registered Tax Agent and a Chartered Tax Adviser with the Tax Institute of Australia.

Trevor James

Trevor was appointed a director of Aurora Energy on 25 April 2016. He is Chair of Aurora Energy’s Board Appointments and Remuneration Committee and a member of the Board Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

Trevor has over 39 years’ experience in the energy industry, having worked for the State Electricity Commission, the State Energy Commission of Western Australia (SECWA) and Western Power where he headed up the Retail division, before transferring to Synergy at disaggregation in 2006.

Trevor has gained a wealth of experience across many areas of the energy industry having held leadership positions in the areas of generation, retailing, wholesale trading, finance, information technology, and human resources.

Trevor is the former Chief Executive Officer of Synergy, WA’s largest energy retailer and is currently Managing Director of Turnkey Energy Solution which is backed by a major Chinese company providing innovative renewable energy solutions to its customers.

He is also a member of the Curtin University Graduate School of Management Advisory Board and is a guest lecturer on change management strategies to MBA students at the university.

Trevor holds a Bachelor of Business, is a Fellow of CPA Australia and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Keryn Nylander

Keryn was appointed a director of Aurora Energy on 14 August 2018. She is a member of Aurora Energy’s Board Appointments and Remuneration Committee and Board Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

Tasmanian born and educated, Kern has worked in the Tasmanian media industry for three decades both as a communications professional and award-winning journalist. She is a former State political reporter for both print and electronic media before rising to be the Head of News for WIN Television Tasmania – the first female for the network in Australia. 

In the past decade, Keryn has been at the helm of her own strategic communications and public relations consultancy, Nylander Consulting, specialising in media and communications advice to business in partnership with M&M Communications. Keryn has also had a long association with the wine industry starting with brand development of Moorilla Estate in 1990, to the creation of the Tamar Ridge wine label and more recently Keryn was a part of the management team and a shareholder in specialist contract winemaking business Winemaking Tasmania Pty Ltd from 2005-2013 in Cambridge, Hobart. 

Keryn has a strong understanding of the Tasmanian economic environment through her leadership for the past 18 years in a number of senior board roles in Tasmania - Keryn is currently a director of Tasmanian financial institution Bank of us (formerly B&E Personal Banking) serving as chairman from 2009-2011, and has served as a director of the State’s peak wine body Wine Tasmania (2006-2014), a director of the Tasmanian Development Board (2001-2014), and Chairman of Fahan School (2008-2017).

Keryn was appointed a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2013.