About Aurora

Aurora Energy is a State-owned Company established in 1998 under the Electricity Companies Act 1997. Aurora's two Shareholders are the Minister for Energy and the Treasurer.

Aurora Energy is a stand-alone retailer in Tasmania competing in a fully contestable electricity market. As a Tasmanian company proudly supporting Tasmanians, we remain committed to engaging with our customers, supporting our communities and building on our long history of delivering electricity and gas to Tasmanians.


View our list of policies, covering right to information, safety, health, environment and more.

Aurora Energy Annual Report

View the latest Aurora Energy Annual Report in sections or as a whole document and our GRI Index.

Our Commitment to the Environment

Aurora Energy is committed to minimising its impact on the environment.